top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFlawlessFinish

Preparation Is Key

Updated: Apr 12, 2019

Hi, and welcome to the first instalment of many to come. I'm starting this blog to focus on my acquired skills throughout my life in the painting game. With over 30+ years experience I hope I can offer some sort of insight. Anyway enough about me let me start this blog off with the most important part of painting, preparation!


Preparation is key, literary. With out good preparation all your hard work can be for nothing. In fact it can make things worse by requiring extensive works to remove all that you have done. I have experienced this over the years and unfortunately I made it policy in the end to not touch someone else's faults, or incomplete works. I know this isn't the nicest thing to do, but it just made it impossible to offer a warranty as the unknown has cost me thousands in warranty claims.





Chemical Adhesion


This is a form of adhesion, and of course a more costly approach. This can be substantially a better solution with a higher key to the surface, if done correctly and with the correct product. Unfortunately there are just too many products and too many surfaces to cover in this brief blog. I will cover one which is the stable of every painters arsenal. Undercoat, which comes in two main types - Water and oil. Both are as effective as one another with oil edging out just in front. This form of adhesion should be used in conjunction with mechanical adhesion for best results. Also it is paramount that you test the surfaces first just to check that key is effective.


Ok well that wraps this brief blog up for now. I will continue my blog with a brief description on undercoats and the most effective way to use them on different surfaces and some of the perils of stubborn substrates.


Mechanical adhesion


This is one of the easiest, most effective and best cost effective forms of preparation when it comes to the home handyman. No other form of preparation is as cheap as your own labour. The only thing it is going to cost you is hard work. Sandpaper comes in different grades allowing different levels of mechanical adhesion. The key to sandpaper is using the roughest paper possible that wont damage your works. Most painters use 120grit paper and going as low as 80 grit. A trick of the trade to increase the grit level of your paper is to sand the paper on itself. This way you can change a 80grit paper into a 120grit.


11 views0 comments
bottom of page